Penny Estelle

ImageWhat can you say about this amazing woman? Penny is a kind hearted soul with so much talent to share with the world, and that she does! Currently second in the Author Of The Month Competition Penny is striving fast and hard towards an amazing future with NPP! So lets hear a bit about Penny Estelle from the woman herself!

  1. Do you have any other passions other than writing? If so what are they and why?

My number ONE passion is my family. I have a large one and I don’t know what I would do if they weren’t around!

  1. What made you want to write?

Heck if I know! I was getting ready to retire from the public school system where I was a school secretary for 21 years and I decided I wanted to try and write for the middle grade kiddos. My daughter was teaching 5 grade at the time and I ask her to read the first 3 chapters of my story to her class to see if they liked it, hated it, or fell asleep while she was reading. They really liked it and wanted more. I gave her a new chapter every month! Hence, the birth of Hike Up Devil’s Mountain – my first published story!

  1. Do you have a family; kids, husband/wife etc?

I am married to a wonderful guy, Jim! I have 5 kids (Jim came with 2 boys and I had 2 boys and a girl) Between us we have 7 grandchildren from ages 2 – 15!

  1. If you could do anything else in the world would you do it?

If skill or money was not an issue I would be a famous tennis player or a professional gambler!

  1. If you could go anywhere, where would it be?

OOOOHHHH – so many places on my bucket list! I want to visit every state in the United States (I’ve done about half) Australia, Tahiti, New Zealand, England, Switzerland, on and on and on!!!

  1. What would you say your favourite book is? And why?

Flame and the Flower by Johanna Lindsey. I was never a reader as a kid or teen. I only started reading after having my first child (as sleep is non existent when a baby is in the picture) That was the first novel I ever read and it has stuck with me forever.

  1. Favourite TV show? And why?

Supernatural…..It’s weird as I don’t like blood/gore shows, but this has humor and it’s SO paranormal and out there that it doesn’t make me look behind the doors or in the closet before going to bed. And then there’s Sam and Dean……Have you seen Sam and Dean?????

  1. Favourite Film? And why?

HMMMM I go in so many different directions but I loved The Birdcage as it was so hysterical…..McClintock (I love John Wayne)…..Burlesque (I loved the singing)

  1. Have you ever had a scary moment? If so would you mind sharing?

My little 2 year old granddaughter has downs syndrome and at 6 months she had to have heart surgery….It was a horrible, HORRIBLE 4 hours!!!

As far as the “other kind of scared”….I am not a lover of the dark. We live very rural and it gets extremely dark up here at night. The one night, I am here by myself, my neighbor calls. They have their solar panel on a small hill. She went up to turn it and fell and broke her ankle. She had her phone, called and told me to come and help her, but to bring my gun. I hustled down there in a shorty nightgown, gun and flashlight in hand. Struggled up the little hill and not 10 feet away from her was a huge rattlesnake. I shot it and we got her down. That scared the hell out of me…..though I’m sure she was a little more shaken up than I was!

  1. What are your dreams for life?

I would love for my books to take off! I would love to be able to just “up and go” whenever the urge hit me!

  1. Now, for a bit about your book…. How did you come up with the story idea?

I took a writing class years ago and the assignment was to write a story for early readers. I came up with Have you Seen my Tail?

  1. Has it changed or evolved over time?

Oh yes. It started out The Bear’s Tale and I have added/changed quite a bit!

  1. What is your book about?

    Little Sammy Bear has been told, by his older brother, he has lost his tail and he better find it before their mother finds out.  Sammy asks different forest animals if they have seen his tail, but the only help they can offer are snacks, which Sammy gladly accepts.  It seems everything they offer is his favorite! Will Sammy find his tail?

At the end of the story are four “bug recipes that kids can make and eat themselves!

  1. Is it out? If not when will it be released?

It will be released in May, 2014

  1. Where can people find you?

www.pennystales.com

www.pennyestelle.blogspot.com

https://twitter.com/Pennystales

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5820078.Penny_Estelle

http://www.facebook.com/pennystales

http://www.amazon.com/Penny-Estelle/e/B006S62XBY

https://museituppublishing.com/bookstore2/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=146&Itemid=82

  1. And of course most importantly; where can people buy your book?

Nocturnal Press is the wonderful company that has picked up my story. You can visit them by going to http://www.npuniverse.com

One thought on “Penny Estelle

  1. Louisa…thank you so much for having me today. You are a very gracious hostess!

Leave a Reply

