Hayley Barlow

ImageSo we are already starting our second week on Nocturnal Press Publications Author Of The Month Competition, and what an author to feature! Hayley Barlow is an incredibly talented author with her debut novel; Lust or Love hitting the shelves on the 15th of January 2014! I am pleased to be able to feature Hayley on my blog, she is certainly a rising star, and good friend. On that note; without any more delay I give you my guest on the blog; HAYLEY BARLOW!!!

1.Do you have any other passions other than writing? If so what are they and why?

Other than being a mum to my eight year old daughter I love to read. I will read anything and everything so long as it had a good and gripping plot. This year I have been doing a lot of things that I have always wanted to do; I started working for myself as a masseuse and holistic therapist as well as working towards getting published. These are huge passions of mine and have been working towards being a massage and holistic therapist on and off for several years now

2. What made you want to write?

I used to love writing short stories and even reports when I was in school, sadly after I left I found life took over and the writing stopped. That is until recently; as I mentioned above I have been working towards a lot of my passions with the aim to turn them into a career. Getting published was one of the things I have always wanted to do, but I did not always have the courage to go ahead and do it. Saying this I have been inspired by many indie authors and I have entered a writing competition before now. I didn’t get too far in the actual competition but it gave me the push to continue writing my novel; Lust or Love.

3. Do you have a family; kids, husband/wife etc.?

I have one daughter; Brieanne who will be nine in December. I am a single mum and have been for a long time; however I have a wonderful mum and dad who have always been there for me and continue to be a big support. Plus I am close to my sister who has two boys; one is sixteen and the other eighteen years old; so I guess you could say we are a small but close family.

4. If you could do anything else in the world would you do it?

I would love to have my own shop where I could sell and do my treatments from; I hope one day I will have that.

5. If you could go anywhere, where would it be?

If I could go anywhere I would go to Africa on a safari; I would love to do that with my daughter I think it would be an amazing experience.

6. What would you say your favourite book is? And why?

Oh no, it is so hard to choose! I have so many books I love to read but I think I am going to go with Dracula; it is a classic and I just love it!

7.Favourite TV show? And why?

I love Vampire Diaries at the moment. I know I am an adult but I love anything supernatural and it is so easy to watch. (And such good fun too.)

 8. Favourite Film? And why?

Dirty Dancing is my favourite; it is an all-time girly film which is why I love it so much. Well that and it has Patrick Swayze as bad boy Johnny in it. What’s not to love?

9. Have you ever had a scary moment? If so would you mind sharing?

Oh my, I’ve had lots of them but the biggest one would be walking into the house when it had been broken into; that was very shocking and so upsetting for me. At the time I had a feeling someone was still in the house, which worse yet I was right, a friend of mine who was with me at the time made me come back out and I had to ring the police from my sisters. It wasn’t until the police had come and gone that I could clean up I was just glad to have help from my friends and family! It was a horrible time for us all and for months after I was scared in my own home by the smallest noise. It just kept sending my mind racing and I kept thinking someone was trying to get in the house. That took a lot of getting over.

10. What are your dreams for life?

I always want my daughter to be happy and I hope one day that my small self-employed business will keep growing so I can afford to have a little shop to call my own. And it would be amazing if my first novel would take off and be a success; I would love to keep writing more books.

11. Now, for a bit about your book…. How did you come up with the story idea?

I came up with the idea as like most people out there I have had some very unsuccessful relationships. So using just a tiny bit of my own experience’s and my big imagination I came up with Lust or Love.

12. Has it changed or evolved over time?

I would say yes it has changed a bit over time as I have been writing the story for over a year now. I have changed my mind slightly with some of the scenes but the plot and ending has always stayed the same.

13. What is your book about?

ImageLust or Love is for 18’s and over only due to some swearing and sexual content. It isn’t your typical ‘happily ever after’ story; no rock stars, cowboys or rich guys sweeping you off your feet… This is an everyman romance.

What do you do when the one who completely wrong for you keeps coming back into your life? Single mother Heather is turning thirty and can’t help but evaluate her life. The book is set in a small town in Yorkshire, England in 2011. You will look back into Heathers past and follow her into the present.

For six years Heather has been torn between her feelings for the destructive Kian and the harsh truth that they probably won’t ever be together. For more than six years life has taken them in different directions; however Heather can never seem to get Kian out of her mind, and at the most unexpected points in her life Kian has a habit of reappearing. If it isn’t really love than is the lust worth the pain? Or can Heather let Kian go for good?

14. Is it out? If not when will it be released?

I have a publishing date for January 15th 2014

15. Where can people find you?

https://www.facebook.com/h.barlow32?ref=stream

http://hayleyb32.wordpress.com/2013/11/21/coming-soon/

https://www.facebook.com/hayleybarlow32?ref=stream

16. And of course most importantly; where can people buy your book?

I am so lucky to have been signed with Nocturnal Press Publications; they have been amazing with me and are such awesome people to work with. My book will be available to buy through them.

https://www.facebook.com/NocturnalPressPublicationsLtd?hc_location=timeline

http://www.npuniverse.com/contact/

Leave a Reply

