Finding The Funny In A Thunder Storm

Life can be a bit of ride at times, finding new and interesting ways to throw you completely off balance. I have been ‘lucky’ enough to encounter this phenomenon more times than I have had hot dinners. I was born with into a loving family with a wonderfully supportive mum, but even from this humble beginning there was a price for this. At seven months old I was diagnosed with ‘Epilepsy in a Non-True-Form’ which basically means I can have any kind of seizure at anytime. Fun right?

I have spent my entire life baffling doctors; I have been classed as untreatable and to add to all this I have ‘accumulated’ several other ‘disabilities’ over the years from ‘Hemiplegia’ (stroke damage leaving me partially paralyzed down my left side), ‘Short Term Memory Recall Deficiency’ (You wouldn’t believe how long it took to memorize that) to ‘Clinical Depression’ and ‘Polycystic Ovaries’; all of which feed off each other and make each other worse. An example of this is; The Polycystic Ovaries causes a hormonal imbalance triggering seizures, which spirals me into a fit of depression and unable to use my left arm for a term as well as playing with my short term memory. (It’s a load of laughs at our house sometimes).

My body is a thunder storm of problems; I often joke that if I was a horse I would have been shot by now. But oddly enough, I wouldn’t change a single moment of my life so far. Why I hear no-one ask? Simple, all this has made me stronger, wiser and bar any doctor within a hundred mile radius, more patient with people.

So why am I telling you all this? It’s simple really; I laugh at myself constantly. I walk like a pregnant duck, have the remarkable ability to repeat myself three maybe four times in the same breath, in fits of depression I can invent brand new and peculiar kind of sandwich fillings (too the point where I get asked if I’m pregnant), of course thanks to the Polycystic Ovaries I am hardly skinny which I am fine with and I carry most of my weight on my stomach…. So I have been known to play on this and see how many people I can get guessing (A good way of doing this is to walk with one hand on the small of the small of your back and another resting on the top of your belly as you walk along.) Is that mean? People used to stare anyway I just give them something to look at.

The irony being I can’t have kids. But the fun part is thanks to a treatment I am currently doing I can say “I’m menopausal” gets me out of all sorts of trouble and the looks on peoples faces are just priceless considering I am twenty-four.

I am not saying life is easy; the exact opposite in fact. Life is hard, and everyone is going make mistakes and have troubles that are going to be out of their control. I found writing through all these issues, it was (to be cheesy) my silver lining. I am telling you all this so next time you feel overwhelmed or out of control; stop and think ‘This isn’t in my control, so why worry?’ think of the positive that could come out of it.  Think tomorrow it could all change, but if there is something you can do, then do it don’t put it off because your scared of an outcome. Life drives you forward; don’t fight it, don’t go backwards. Find the funny in it, everyone looks back and remembers something funny about a bad situation; why cant you find it now?

One thought on “Finding The Funny In A Thunder Storm

  1. Agree completely, though positive thinking’s often hard for me 🙂 And writing is good medicine – it’s good therapy, it’s Tolkein’s “light in dark places when all other lights go out.”

Leave a Reply

